Oracle Apps Notes

A collection of my random notes, primarily on Oracle Apps

Airtel ADSL Modem(Beetel) with Linksys Wireless Router

I have an Airtel broadband connection(provided through a Beetel ADSL modem) and two laptops which need to access the connection simultaneously. Instead of asking Airtel to provide me with a solution and overcharge for it, I decided that buying a wireless router(Linksys) and connecting the ADSL modem with it would be more cost-effective.

After spending a frustrating hour trying to get it work and searching the Internet for clues, I finally managed to get it to work. Vikram Sridharan’s post Airtel Beetel Modem + Netgear WGR614 Wifi Router provided the best solution. In his post he used a Netgear router as an example, here are the same steps for a Linksys wireless router:

1. Connect the ADSL modem to your computer and log on to the modem using its IP address(generally it is http://192.168.1.1)

2. From the ‘Device Info’ page, note down the Primary and Secondary DNS addresses.

3. Connect the wireless router to your computer and log on using its IP address, http://192.168.1.1

4. In the ‘Network Setup’ section of the ‘Setup’ page, change the Local IP address of the wireless router to 192.168.0.1 and save the settings.

5. Connect to the wireless router again this time using the new IP address(http://192.168.0.1)

6.  In the ‘Internet Setup’ section of the ‘Setup’ page, the entries are to be made as shown below.

Internet IP address: Enter an IP of the same series as the ADSL modem, ie, 192.168.1.x. Ensure that x is greater than the number of computers which need to access the connection.

Subnet Mask: Default 255.255.255.0

Default Gateway: The IP address of the ADSL modem, ie, 192.168.1.1

DNS1 and DNS2: The values that you noted down in setp#2 from the ADSL modem’s configuration page.

7. Disable the ‘DHCP Server’ option.

6 responses to “Airtel ADSL Modem(Beetel) with Linksys Wireless Router

  1. yudhvir March 13, 2012 at 2:01 pm

    I have slightly more complex situation. I am using Beetel Modem + wireless Router. I want to replace it with Wireless router of Cisco. I understand we can’t use two wireless routers with same connections. So, I am looking for alternative where I can disable the wireless functionality of Beetel modem cum Router and use Cisco’s functionality. Any pointer will be appreciated.

    • oracleappsnotes March 13, 2012 at 3:24 pm

      It seems that you want to use the Beetel device just as a modem and the Cisco device as the router. It should not be a problem since you will be connecting through WiFi only to the Cisco router(and not to the Beetel device) for accessing the internet. The IP range of your laptop whould match the range of the Cisco router.The Beetel Modem should have LAN ports. You can connect it to the Cisco Router using a LAN cable. That’s about all that I can say…not much of a network person, more a trial-and-error guy 🙂

  2. Shruti August 2, 2012 at 3:42 pm

    Hi,
    I am trying to configure my Linksys router with Airtel beetle ADSL2 Modem. I have followed the steps exactly as above, but after i save the settings and the page gets redirected back to the basic setup page after the settings get updated, there is still no internet access. Please guide! Thanks

    • Kuldeep October 7, 2015 at 4:27 pm

      Hi
      I am using airtel beetal modem and want to increase its range I have one router of tplink how can I use it to increase range.

  3. mint June 18, 2014 at 6:07 pm

    i believe that you cannot connect to the router after rebooting the router and the modem. is there a way to go around this?

  4. Rahul Dolia May 18, 2015 at 5:28 pm

    Hello,
    I am trying to configure the airtel modem(450TC1) with a Cisco Linksys wireless router. And I don’t know if its possible or not, but I want to use WiFi from both the modems as I have a long Ethernet cable using which I will be placing these 2 devices far apart.

    Can anyone please help me. Any info is appreciated.

    Thanks,
    RD

Leave a Reply

